Updates on the 40 for my 40th year

Below is a quick update on my 40 for my 40th year list.   I am so not food at these kinds of things but mostly I am trying to give myself a break from feeling overwhelmed or guilty about where I am.  It is Feb.  It will be ok.

40 for my 40th year

  1. Count my blessings everyday – working on this…some days are easier than others.
  2. Be thankful for the blessings I have – again, a work in progress.
  3. Remember that every closed door is not a lost opportunity – but a sign from God to move in another direction or to just wait until the door opens
  4. Make sure that the people I love know how much they mean to me
  5. Look for opportunities to be a blessing to someone else
  6. Devote some time (even a moment) to prayer before I act in anger or frustration
  7. Be present for the moments that I am instead of looking forward or back
  8. Listen instead of just waiting to respond
  9. Make relationships a priority
  10. Take the time to notice the little things around me
  11. Karaoke with friends
  12. At least one night out each month with friends – so far so good.
  13. Photograph DC
  14. Go see an exhibit at VMFA (Hollywood Costume exhibit) – Missed it
  15. Tour the Museum of American History in DC (my favorite)
  16. Rent or see a new movie each month – yep…even have been to the movies which is something!
  17. Go on a date or two
  18. See a live play
  19. Take a road trip -planned for March (hey Penny!)
  20. Scrapbook each month — no excuses – it is not about excuses.  I am trying to get in the mood and right now I am giving myself some room away from it.
  21. Create a scrapbook to commemorate my 40th year – I don’t think I will do this one.  I am trying to live my life instead of concentrating so much on recording what is happening.  Maybe I will circle back here but right now…no.
  22. Work at home at least a couple of days a week to avoid the traffic
  23. New car
  24. Replace my iPhone
  25. Move more
  26. Quit FAST FOOD – not 100 percent but close
  27. Replace old wardrobe items
  28. Use up current scrapbook supplies before buying if at all possible
  29. Find a church
  30. Pay off debts
  31. Move to my own place
  32. Take on a bigger work challenge
  33. Come to terms with my current relationship status – find peace in it for now
  34. Be looking for what God has planned for me
  35. Experience new people instead of hiding from them
  36. Find a therapist
  37. Do a mission project
  38. Spend more time out and less time online (ironic right???)
  39. Reduce my TV time each week (I am well on my way to this) - spotty at best
  40. Acceptance of my own limitations
This entry was posted in 40 by 40. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Updates on the 40 for my 40th year

  1. Stef Kurtz says:

    I can help with 11 (we should plan a time in March), 13 & 15 (but let’s wait until it’s a little warmer :) and 37 (http://www.signupgenius.com/go/9040444A9A722A75-fellowship …it’s for anyone who wants to help). Love you!!

Leave a Reply

