Celebrities

R.I.P. John Hughes

I heard about the passing of John Hughes on Facebook.  John Hughes was and is to some extent a big part of my eighties past.  And in tribute, I would like to list some of my favorite movie lines from his films.

Mr. Mom (written by John Hughes) – [Trying to get Kenny to give up his security blanket]
I understand that you little guys start out with your woobies and you think they’re great… and they are, they are terrific. But pretty soon, a woobie isn’t enough. You’re out on the street trying to score an electric blanket, or maybe a quilt. And the next thing you know, you’re strung out on bedspreads Ken. That’s serious.

Vacation (screenplay by JH) – Clark: Oh, you can’t think I’d do this on purpose? Look… I tied him to the rear bumper while I was packing the car. It was very confusing. I must have forgot. I’m very sorry, I feel terrible.
Motorcycle Cop: How do you think that little dog feels?
Clark: Look, I told you I was sorry. It really was an accident.
Motorcycle Cop: Well, I guess I can buy that, sir. But it is a shame. I had a pooch like this when I was a kid.
[both Clark and the motorcycle cop sorrowfully look at the empty road behind them]
Motorcycle Cop: Poor little guy. Probably kept up with you for a mile or so.
[tearing up]
Motorcycle Cop: Tough little mutt…

Sixteen Candles (written by JH) –The Geek: So, what’s your story? I mean, you got a guy, or…? Samantha: Yes, three big ones, and they lust wimp blood so quit bugging me or I’ll sic them all over your weenie ass.

Breakfast Club (written by JH) – John Bender: Does Barry Manilow know that you raid his wardrobe?

Weird Science (written by JH) – Susan, Perfume Salesgirl: You guys looking for something for your mom?
[Gary and Wyatt exchanged an amused look]
Garry: I really don’t think so…
[reads her nametag]
Garry: Sue.
Susan, Perfume Salesgirl: [astonished] You guys have… girlfriends?
Garry: You know, I really wouldn’t refer to a 23-year-old woman as a girlfriend… more of a lover…
Wyatt, Garry: Lover… mistress.
Wyatt: Sexpot.
Garry: Sexpot is what she is.
Susan, Perfume Salesgirl: You guys are the ones who got beat up at the homecoming game… right?

Pretty in Pink (written by JH) – Andie: You know your talking like that just because I’m going out with Blane
Duckie: His name is Blane? Oh! That’s a major appliance, that’s not a name!

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (written by JH) – Economics Teacher: In 1930, the Republican-controlled House of Representatives, in an effort to alleviate the effects of the… Anyone? Anyone?… the Great Depression, passed the… Anyone? Anyone? The tariff bill? The Hawley-Smoot Tariff Act? Which, anyone? Raised or lowered?… raised tariffs, in an effort to collect more revenue for the federal government. Did it work? Anyone? Anyone know the effects? It did not work, and the United States sank deeper into the Great Depression. Today we have a similar debate over this. Anyone know what this is? Class? Anyone? Anyone? Anyone seen this before? The Laffer Curve. Anyone know what this says? It says that at this point on the revenue curve, you will get exactly the same amount of revenue as at this point. This is very controversial. Does anyone know what Vice President Bush called this in 1980? Anyone? Something-d-o-o economics. “Voodoo” economics.

Some Kind of Wonderful (Written by JH – and a personal favorite) – Keith Nelson: I’m sorry. I’m sorry I was so hard on you.
Watts: Me too.
Keith Nelson: You always hurt the ones you love.
Watts: So when are you going to beat the shit out of Amanda Jones?

He was just brilliant.

Leave a Reply

