Identity

I have been confronted several times with questions about my own identity and my identity as others see me.  And while I know my identity in God is what matters, I still find myself concentrating on how others view me and how I view myself.  A more evolved Michelle would be able to concentrate on Him, but I am not her yet.  (Did I really just use my name in the third person?)

Last night I was introduced by my pastor to someone and he started by talking about my singing, then my service to various ministries in the church and he briefly touched on my salvation story in between.  I was an interesting introduction.  Not because it was bad…a little embarassing but not bad…just interesting and a little out of context for the group I was with.   But it laid clear who I was in my pastors’ eyes.  A singer, a servant and child of God.  Probably not in that order. 🙂

Those are labels I can live with.  There are others I struggle with: diva, has a chip on her shoulder, unfriendly, overly-emotional, self-important.  I am sure I have had moments of all of those, but I like to think that I don’t live there.  Correct me if I am wrong.  I see myself more as: shy, withdrawn, self-conscience, worried and well, maybe a little bit of a chip on my shoulder.

Gives me a lot to think about.

2 comments

  1. heather · April 1, 2010

    Hmmm…..

  2. tlmiller82 · April 5, 2010

    You make me smile! I remember that meeting as well, it was a bit awkward to be introduced with such brief bios. I suppose he was attempting to provide the guest with some context. I agree with the categories in which he placed you…”child of God, servant of our Lord, singer”….although I also know that you are never limited to our vision of who you are but rather always capable of anything God draws you to…seriously, I remember when I only knew you as “singer” and must admit that with that beautiful talent I just assumed that would be your contribution to the work of our Lord within our church….how silly and short sighted of me!(I guess I figured IF I could sing like you, that’d be all I would do) But oh no! Not you!…You my dear lady stepped forth and put your hands into teaching,womens ministry, singles ministry, church history, websites, crafts and blogging. I LOVE reading your quirky, honest blog posts…even if sometimes I don’t “get it”, like when you start talking scrape booking lingo..hahahah Thanks you for always making me smile!

Leave a Reply

