Pit of My Stomach

“Fear not for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand” Isaiah 41:10 ESV

You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach when you know you messed something up that was pretty important?  When you realize that you were too distracted or hurried or stressed to give it your full attention and now you messed up?  That was my day today.

I have been training into a new job and still doing a good portion of my old one.  I am distracted easily and overwhelmed in the sheer volume of all that I am trying to get straight.  And remember.  Remembering is a big issue.  The jobs and clients are all melding together and some days are better than others.    And some jobs are easier than others.

And through it all I am so lucky to have a boss who is patient and knows that all of this is a learning experience.  And she is helping as much as she can to make sure that I don’t feel the full burden of each decision.  Ultimately these are her clients and I am just assisting.  But, as most of you can relate, I take on a large amount of guilt with each failure.

She, while not a Christian, reminds me of the grace God shows to me everyday.  Her willingness to guide me through the process, point out mistakes but not blame me for making them, and shoulder the load of my guilt when it gets to be too much are a prime example of His love and care for me.  Just as she has told me not to panic (and I do often), He has told me “Fear not.”

I am amazed at God shows me grace through His own hand.  And I am overwhelmed in how He uses others to do the same.

And just a little postscript – the “problem” ended up not being a problem at all…just took a little maneuvering to make it right.  God is so good!

Leave a Reply

