Faith, First Baptist Church

Did I Choose to Love?

I don’t spend a lot of time thinking about my legacy.  I don’t dwell on what people may or may not remember about me sometime in the future.   I do think my decision to not have kids has a lot to do with that.  I mean outside of my niece and nephew, who will be there TO remember me.  Grim right?

But I have had an opportunity to rethink the idea of legacy in the last couple of months as I left the church that has been my home for almost 12 years.  And when I say home, I mean I have spent almost as much time there as I have at the jobs that I have been paid to do and at least as much time as I spend at home in a typical week (when I am not sleeping).   Now that I have felt the need to walk away, how will people remember my time there…will people remember my time there…and does it matter if they do or they don’t?

And I decided…no it does not matter.  It does not matter if they remember me.  It does not matter if they can recall anything that happened while I was there.  It does not matter if they remember that they is how they knew me at all.  And ultimately it does not matter if they remember ME at all.  What matters is this:

I did as God asked while I was there.  And I am doing as He asked as I leave and move on.

Personally, it would be nice to know if I made a difference to any one person in particular.  Or, if God had used me in some miraculous way that only He and the other person knows about.  Or, if the work I offered to Him was part of His master plan that will only be apparent in years or decades or eons.   Ultimately, that is just a personal preference that I may never see.  And that is o.k.

I trust Him and His plan and that makes it o.k.

“I want to leave a legacy
How will they remember me
Did I choose to love?
Did I point to You
Enough to make a mark on things?
I want to leave an offering
A child of mercy and grace who
Blessed your name unapologetically.
I want to leave a legacy”
~Nichole Nordeman “Legacy”

1 thought on “Did I Choose to Love?”

  1. Michelle, You have made a tremendous difference in my life. I will never forget the first time I heard you sing…I thought “wow, I want to sing like that” – it was and still is beautiful. And then I walked up to you and introduced myself and I am so glad I did. We might not hang out together every week or month, but you are a forever friend of mine my dear Michelle and don’t you ever forget it! I love you, Stef

Leave a Reply

