personal

Things I Knew and Didn’t Know at 17

My 20 year high school reunion is this summer.  I still have not decided if I am going to attend or not.  I skipped the 10 year.  And truthfully, most of the those people didn’t know me in high school and I didn’t know them…why would I want to go back to that time and relive a time that makes me shudder in horror when I think about it now?  And what could I possibly learn about them that I didn’t hear about on Facebook?

So in honor of my reunion…that I may or may not attend, here is a list of things I did and didn’t know at 17 – when I graduated.

Things I Did Know at 17

  1. People can be cruel and you can choose to let it get you down or not.  I usually chose to let it get to me…and sometimes I still do.
  2. Life will not be easy.
  3. Friendships and can come and go.
  4. Be on the lookout for wolves dressed like sheep.  They do exist.
  5. People will forgive a lot if you have something that makes you special…for me, they shut up when I sang.
  6. You can easily hide if motivated…even in a large group of people.
  7. It is possible to see a future that you previously never imagined…change is possible.
  8. There is nothing like being on stage and there still isn’t.
  9. You can love being on stage and still hate being the center of attention.
  10. Crushes are not fatal.
  11. Kids are not in my future.  And I like it that way.
  12. It is possible to love the entirely wrong person with no expectation of them loving you back.
Things I Didn’t Know at 17
  1. It can be extremely difficult to meet people and connect to them when you are an adult.
  2. Some adolescent behavior never goes away.
  3. I would walk away from my one true love (music) and only rediscover it after a traumatic event.
  4. I would consider my sister one of my best friends.
  5. That it would be possible to consider people your friends even when you barely ever see them.
  6. That my work would be so important to me.
  7. That I would find my inner artist and writer at this point in my life.
  8. The need to be liked does not fade.  Neither does the need for a hug.
  9. Being single is not as fun as it seems.  At 17, I never thought I would want to get married.  Now at 37, it has not happened.  But it is far from the life I saw then.
  10. I would find faith in my Savior and it saved me.
  11. My tendency to sit in front of the TV would leave me in the worst shape of my life and the pain it is causing to rectify that.
  12. Love can make people uncomfortable – me included – if they don’t know how to receive it.
1 thought on “Things I Knew and Didn’t Know at 17”

Leave a Reply

