Inane Questions

Often when I am thinking that I need to write more often on the blog, I can’t think of topics that I would like to write about.  This leads me on a quest to find lists of blogging topics on the web.  And this weeks quest led me to a post with 100 blogging suggestions.  And as I read through them, I thought…really?  These are the burning questions of the blogging world?   Or are these the inane questions that someone with too much time and too little inspiration thinks are worthy?  The odd thing was, his blog was nothing like the question list he had.

But I decided since it is late and there is little to do tonight, that I will play along.  So here are some of the q’s he had and some of my answers (and non-answer thoughts) to them.

  • When is the last time you cried and why did you? The last time I cried was earlier this week.  Frustration was the cause and I just needed to get it out of my system.  I have moved on and am calmer for it.
  • Whose your favorite figure skater of all time and and why? Um…I don’t really have one.  I like Brian Boitano’s cooking show.  I know I saw Dorothy Hamill as a kid but I don’t remember it (I do remember having her hair cut for a long time).  And I lived through the the Nancy Kerrigan thing years ago.   But I don’t really have a favorite skater.  Do you?
  • When was the first time you realized that your vote didn’t make a difference and have you voted since then?  For me I knew my vote didn’t make a difference in 5th grade when we had elections.  The mean one still won.  But I have been a voter since I was 18 and have not stopped.  Even when the mean one wins again.
  • What TV show do you remember most from your childhood and why?  Ooohhh, now this one I could seriously pontificate on for a while.  But in short:  Fame (cause I SO WANTED to dance and sing on lunch tables), Silver Spoons (cause Ricky was the hottest to my 9 year brain), and Star Search (cause I was sure that was my future).
  • If you could change the date of Christmas, when would you change it to?  (forget the birth of Jesus thing, everyone else does).  Well that is a loaded statement.  I mean really, the date is unimportant.  We could have it in the summer, in the winter, in the spring.  The “Jesus thing” as he calls it IS Christmas.  So this is a non-question as far as I am concerned.
  • What does love mean to you?  Acceptance and grace.
  • Is hate the opposite of love?  Nope.  Hate is the absence of compassion.  Love is (as I stated above) acceptance and grace.
  • David Letterman or Jay Leno?  I couldn’t write this kind of post if I tried…I don’t watch either.  I am asleep.
  • What is the most beautiful thing you have ever seen?  I have had my breath taken away a few times.  But the first one that comes to mind, is meeting Hayley – my niece – for the first time.
  • Do you remember your dreams?  Only if I am startled awake.
  • What’s the thing you fear the most in your life?  I fear being afraid of living my life to it’s fullest.  And being “unknown.”
  • Dog or cat person?  Allergic person.  But really a dog person.
  • If you are single, write about your last date (no matter how long ago or how weird it was).  I have not had a date since a breakup 2 years ago…there are you happy?  Is that what you were trying to find out?  How unlucky I have been in love?  Well fine…you did.  Moving on.  (Latent anger aside, I don’t remember the last date I was on)
  • Go public with a fetish.  Oh my.  I am not sure they mean as G rated as I am about to say, but I am addicted to Extreme Couponing on TLC.  Whoo…out of my system.
  • Why is I capitalized in English?  Really?  That is your question?  NEXT.
  • Write about losing your parents.  Well, I lost one parent and I guess that counts enough to answer.  It was the single most defining moment of my life.  It changed everything.  And I will never be the same because of it.
  • What’s your favorite restaurant and why?  Maggiano’s.  No question.  I love the food.  The music.  The atmosphere.  But I think it is my favorite cause there is one one here – in Tysons – and so I don’t go but on special occasions.
  • Do you think God is male?  Not worth answering.
  • If you are a woman, what one thing do you wish men would get?  I don’t have a man, but when I did, I wish he understood that I needed to talk and he needed to listen…not fix…just listen.  But really, I could say that about some women as well.  And all men are different so this is not a great question.
  • What is the worst movie you have ever seen?  From Justin to Kelly (thanks American Idol for enticing me to watch that disaster).
  • Name your 10 favorite outfits of all time.  I can’t think of 10 outfits I remember.  Why is this on here?
  • Do you sing in your house when you’re alone?  Yes, and when I am not alone.  And in the car.  And at the store.  And at work.  And at church.  Nuff said.
There were a lot more…some more insane than these.  Maybe when I need to write again I will pull out the list and see if any others catch my attention.  Or, you can suggest things for me to write about…how about it?
2 comments

  1. Janna U · June 10, 2011

    Rally enjoyed this post… both the serious answers and the not-so-serious answers 🙂

    • Janna U · June 10, 2011

      Rally = Really

Leave a Reply

