Dream analysis

I have never given much credence to my dreams.  Most likely it is because I rarely remember them.  But lately, Ihave had this recurring dream.  Probably for 6 months or more.  In it I am getting married.  Yep me the spinster of Woodbridge, getting married.  And for months I was never able to see the groom.  Until this week.  And I was pretty shocked…even in the dream…when I realized who it was.  Someone I have known a long time but have never thought of in that way and truthfully is not someone who comes to mind all that often.

So I was thinking about the dreams and this revelation and it got me a little sidetracked.  (Give me a break I spent a week in bed).   So I looked up dreams and what it means to have a dream where you are getting married.  So first I found this one at http://www.dreammoods.com by looking up wedding:

“To see a wedding in your dream, symbolizes a new beginning or transition in your current life. A wedding reflects your issues about commitment and independence. ”

Vague.  And while it gave options for if you are marrying your current spouse or marrying a stranger, it had no option for marrying someone you know but never imaged marrying.  So I looked some more.   I found marriage and it had this explaination:

“To dream of a marriage, signifies commitment, harmony or transitions. You are undergoing an important developmental phase in your life.  The dream may also represent the unification of formerly separate or opposite aspects of yourself.  In particular, it is the union of masculine or feminine aspects of yourself. Consider the qualities and characteristics of the person that you are marrying. These are the qualities that you need to look at incorporating within yourself.”

Well, that is certainly a little more expressive.  So my life is transitioning.  Yep.  I am undergoing an important developmental phase.  Yep.  Here is the thing that scares me.  I don’t really know this guy all that well…although I have known him a long time.  What I can tell you about him is that he has been single a long time and seems at least for now content there.  So is that the part I need to be incorporating into myself?

It would be a lot easier to admit this was a crush than to admit that I might need to get to a place of happiness with being single.

Oh, my subconscious.

Leave a Reply

