Hearing it again

Have you ever listened to a song that you have known for years and for the first time really paid attention to the words?  It happened to me this AM on the way into work.  I was listening to a CD I had made for my road trip to Tennessee and it included the song “Human” by Human League and for the first time I realized what the song is really about.  He is apologizing for cheating and blaming it on his “human-ness”.  She responds by saying, well I forgive you but you also need to forgive me, cause I am “human” too.

So for at least 25 years, I have been singing along to a song that I had no idea what it meant…and I knew all the words.

Has this ever happened to you?

Leave a Reply

