We’ll call you…

I had an audition tonight.  I don’t think it went well.  But you never know, her response of “I’ll call you” could be – don’t call us, we’ll call you – or it could be – we will absolutely call you.  Uncertainty takes over for me in these circumstances.  The only thing I am certain about, is that I wish I had been a little calmer….my sightreading a little better…my singing a little clearer.

But I always spend the first hour or so looking back on what happened.  Was I good enough?  Did I impress?  Or did she immediately think – nope…not in my choir?  Did she not need another soprano?  Or did she think I wouldn’t fit in? 

Until she calls, if she calls, I will ponder those very questions. 

Look, I know I can sing.  But that doesn’t mean that I am right for every project that comes along.  Sometimes you audition and you fail.  Sometimes you get it.  It is the very nature of auditions.  I’m ok with that.

But in the meantime I need to find something to take my mind off of this.  Suggestions?

Leave a Reply

