personal

What I Learned in 2011

I learned…

  • Letting go can be quite liberating.
  • Leaving is not the only way, but many times it is the best way.
  • Love can happen again.
  • Someone will think I am beautiful…and now someone does.
  • Work is important but so is a private life.
  • Traditions are important and breaking them can break your heart.  But, it does not mean that you can’t make new ones.
  • I don’t need things…I need attention, I need affection, I need someone to notice.
  • Money will not fix things.  But it does help grease the wheels sometimes.
  • Never underestimate what you can achieve when you are forced to do things on your own.
  • Asking questions is necessary.  Never be afraid to ask.
  • I need an outlet for creativity.
  • Singing is a passion for me.  Singing well is a necessity for me.
  • There is a difference between what you need and what you will put up with.
  • I need to leave more room in my life for fun.
  • I can accomplish something that I never thought I could – like two 5K’s in a year.
  • My friends, few as they are, are the best.
  • Other peoples expectations of me do not need to define me.
  • My memory of things past can stop me from moving forward at times.
  • My dependence on what I know can lead me wrong.

I am sure there is more.  It was a big year.  My word for 2011 was Finally…and I can say – I lived it this year.

Leave a Reply

