personal

One Little Word for 2011 and 2012

Last year I declared my word to be finally.  I saw this year as a list of things I would finally accomplish…and it held true.  God used that word in my life all year…just not in the way I thought He would.

I finally found love again.
I finally settled into a job I really like.
I finally left a church that God had been trying to move me from and tried something new.
I finally saw what I really need in a church and am moving towards it now.
I finally walked in not just 1, but 2 5K’s….and I did not die.

A lot of big things.  A lot of things that I did not expect.  I am sure that there were lots of little things as well…but it could take all year to write them out.  Just know that God really showed me that word this year.

So for 2012, I have been thinking about my word.  I looked at the words that have been streaming through my head – words like love, security, stability, freedom…all great words but not really mine.  Then over breakfast this Christmas Eve, my friend Penny said it – RELAX.

While it does bring to mind images of Frankie Goes to Hollywood and white t-shirts with RELAX emblazoned on them, this year is the year I am going to try and focus on relaxing.

Websters online says it can be defined this way:

1.  To make less tense or rigid – I could certainly use that.
2.  To make less severe or stringent – another one that applies
3.  To relieve of nervous tension – ohhhh is that on the money
4.  To become less intense or severe – yes, yes, yes
5.  To cast off social restraint or anxiety – ding ding ding…we have a winner!

Anxiety is a large part of my life.  It has been for a while.  Worry is another big one for me.  So this year, my focus is on relaxing…letting God do His thing and resting in the knowledge that He has it all under control.

Now…if I can just figure out how to do that…

Leave a Reply

