JYC 2012 – Day 1 Manifesto

In 2006 or 2007, I signed up for an online class called Journal Your Christmas.  It is a yearly scrapbooking “class” where you commit to making a scrapbook page each day from Dec 1 to Jan 6 talking about Christmas.  You get daily prompts from the leader (Shimelle Laine) suggesting topics.  I loved the idea, but have you ever tried to commit to doing something each day in December?  It is almost impossible – unless that activity takes less than 15 minutes.  Well, once you buy this class, you are a lifetime member and each year I have received the prompts and I file them away and I never actually make the book.

This year is different.

I am not going to commit to making the book.  I am going to try and commit to blogging it.  And if I can get some pictures taken along the way, and eventually turn this into a book – even better.  But if it lives on my blog…that is ok.  I just want to do it.

So the first prompt is always the same…A Christmas Manifesto.  And here is mine:

This Christmas, I want to enjoy the season.
I want to sing and bake cookies and see friends and family.
I want to give gifts that mean something and have no expectations of receiving.
I want to be thankful for every day and every moment.
I want to make sure that work does not fill so much of my mind that I can’t see the holiday happening around me.
I want to take pictures and write and be creative as much as possible.
I want to remember why I wanted to do this project in the first place.
I want to see Christmas with new eyes this year.

 

Leave a Reply

