JYC 2012 – Day 5 Christmas Communications

Every year, on Thanksgiving weekend, my mother pulls out the cards she bought the year before and starts to address them…my guess is that there are way over 100 of them she sends out.  There are people on that list that she has not seen in person in decades but every year they send a card and she sends a card and now they can call each other friends for another year.  It is a little bit like my Facebook account….except her people will probably never comment on anything she has ever said in a card and I know that someone obscure from my Facebook account just might.

My mom is a card person.  Birthdays, anniversaries, holidays, thinking about you, sympathy, and yes Christmas cards get sent out without fail.

I on the other hand, did not inherit that gene.

I don’t send cards.  I don’t usually buy cards.  Ironically, I sometimes like to make cards – but I rarely send them.  My mom does.  I do comment on Birthdays on Facebook, and I keep in touch with people on there.  But I may never be a Christmas Cards kind of gal.

Leave a Reply

