JYC 2012 – Day 10 Christmas Lists

Making a Christmas list each year becomes harder and harder.  It is not so much that there are not things I want or things that I need, it’s just it seems so wrong to ask for things.  I get kind of shy.  I love getting gifts, but there is still a part of me that feels like me having to tell you what I want means you just don’t know me well enough to buy me something…and I am a total hypocrite about stuff like that because I fully recognize how much easier it is on me to buy things for someone when they tell me what they would like.

As a kid, I remember sitting down with the toy catalogs – JC Penney, Montgomery Wards and Sears – and marking about 1000 things I wanted each year.  And I might, if I was lucky that year, get one of them.  Usually, I would get something I wanted or needed, but it was rarely something I had explicitly picked out.  And that was ok…it made the holiday seem like one big surprise party.

SO what did my list look like this year?

Kindle Cover
A few DVD sets – How I Met Your Mother, Big Bang Theory, Glee
Bobby Deen’s Cookbook
Some household things for my new apartment

 

2 comments

  1. Janna · December 11, 2012

    New apartment – did I miss where you decided to move?

    • michellenolton · December 11, 2012

      I am most likely moving in June to Culpeper. Lots have to happen before that, but I am planning on it.

Leave a Reply

