JYC - 2012

JYC 2012 – Day 17 The To Do List

Todays post is suppossed to be about what is left to do on my “To Do” list.  Well you know what?  Not much.  I have some wrapping to finish.  My family Christmas party is Saturday.  We are celebrating my birthday on Friday night.  I want to see Les Miserables on Christmas Day.  That is pretty much it (unless you count my work stuff in which case, I have a crap-load of stuff to finish this week).

Instead, I want to take a moment to keep things in perspective here.  I am incredibly lucky.   I have been blessed with a great family, wonderful friends and a job I love.  There are a few things I wish for each year – blessings that have nothing to do with material gifts and everything to do with quality of life for me and my family and friends.  I wish for love and peace and joy.  I wish for an end to anger and hate and violence.  I wish for calmed spirits and warm fuzzies.  I wish for resentment to take a backseat to forgiveness.  And mostly I wish for those who do not know Jesus Christ as their Savior to find in Him the blessings that He is so waiting to bestow on them.

After the violence in Connecticut this past week,  I spent some time listening to the Christmas carol “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day”.  It was written in the midst of a war and after much personal loss, Longfellow penned these words:

                                                                           And in despair I bowed my head; “There is no peace on earth,” I said;

                                                                                                       “For hate is strong,
                                                                                                        And mocks the song

                                                                          Of peace on earth, good-will to men!”

                                                                         Then pealed the bells more loud and deep: “God is not dead, nor doth He sleep;

                                                                                                       The Wrong shall fail,
                                                                                                       The Right prevail,

                                                                         With peace on the earth, good-will to men.”

Find peace today.

Leave a Reply

