Revisiting 40 things…January 2013

Last month I wrote a list of 40 things I wanted to do before I turned 40.  And since some of them are tasks for each month, I thought I would try to break down the list into a monthly to do.  So as a refresher, here is my original list:

  1. Find a new church home.
  2. Move into my own apartment.  Living by myself with no roommate.
  3. Take a trip to KY to see my sisters new home.
  4. Take a trip to SC to see my favorite retired people.
  5. Start and (almost) complete the 2013 Project Life book I will be starting on Jan 1.
  6. Last year I gave up soda…this year it is fast food.
  7. Walk at least the equivalent of a 10K each week.
  8. Build up a savings account towards buying a house in 2014/15.
  9. Take pictures at least 3 times a week.
  10. Blog at least once a week.
  11. Take an art class from Donna Downey.
  12. Purge at least 1/4 of the supplies in my scrap room – either by giving, selling or using it up.
  13. Purge my wardrobe of the things I no longer love and use.
  14. Keep my nails longer naturally – no biting and no acrylics. (It has been 3 weeks and it is driving me crazy already to try and beat this habit).
  15. Stay open to dating this year.
  16. Spend at least 1 day each weekend out in the world instead of being a hermit like I normally am.
  17. Visit Monticello.
  18. Learn how to properly use my letterpress machine to its fullest.
  19. Take a sewing class.
  20. Read at least 2 books every month.
  21. Keep my TV consumption down to just 10 hours a week.
  22. Sing in the Synergy concert this Spring.
  23. Try public karaoke (I may need a posse for this one).
  24. Accept at least 1 invitation that I would normally say no to.
  25. Take a Saturday and spend it in DC taking pictures of the monuments.
  26. Complete scanning in the family pictures so my sister and I can have copies of them.
  27. Take the Made to Crave Bible Study at FBCW starting in January.
  28. Purchase and take the Tim Holtz Chemistry 101 class.
  29. Try at least 2 new recipes a month.
  30. Try at least 1 new food a month.
  31. Try one thing from Pinterest each month and blog about it.
  32. Embrace my word for 2013 – Renew.  Look for places where I can be renewed each day.
  33. Spend time in prayer each morning before things get too crazy for the day.  Allow myself to be quiet in His presence at least half of that time.
  34. Go to a live concert.
  35. Listen to 1 new Broadway soundtrack a month.
  36. Travel to NYC for a weekend in December (a hard one usually since I am busy)
  37. Have a good headshot taken of me.
  38. Every year I say I want to fall in love this year.  But this time, I say, I want to have someone tell me they love me and really mean it.
  39. I want to attract new people into my life this year.
  40. Finally, I want to find a way to serve this year – to give my life some meaning.

January 2013 – To Do list

5.  Start Project Life 2013 with a new purpose – relax and let it happen as it does.
6.  Give up fast food.
7.  Walk 40K this month
9.  Take at least 12 pictures.
10.  Blog 4 times.
14.  Don’t bite my nails
16.  Spend at least 1 day each weekend out in the world.
20.  Read 2 books
27.  Start the Made to Crave Bible Study (next week)
29.  Try 2 new recipes
30.  Try 1 new food
31.  Try one thing from Pinterest.
32.  Look for places to be renewed each day.
33.  Spend time in prayer each morning.

Whew!  It will be quite a month.

 

 

Leave a Reply

