moving

A Fresh Start

I am moving soon.  Its official – the first part of May I am out of Woodbridge and off to start a new “something” for myself.  It is a time for reinvention, self-discovery, re-evaluation, and learning.  Sounds really impressive right?  Well, it will be if I can get out of my own way and try something new.  They say you can’t expect new results is you do the same thing over and over again.  So it is time for a new perspective so that I can see new perspective.

I have a few goals for the move:

  • Find a church
  • Meet a couple of my neighbors (I live in a neighborhood where I know virtually no one)
  • Find a Bible Study or Sunday School Class
  • Find a group of ladies to scrapbook with

As you can see, there is a social aspect to all of this.  It is interesting to me that for as long as I have lived in Woodbridge, I have very few friends there.  I know people.  I know lots of people.  But for the most part they are not people I spend time with.  I like them.  I think they like me to some degree.  But I spend a lot of time alone.  People have been “warning” me about the loneliness of moving to a place where I know no one and no one knows me.  But really, I have been living like that for quite a while.

Evidence of this can be seen in the fact that I am stressing about finding help for the move.  Part of the issue is that I don’t like asking.  And I have to get over that … and fast.  Part of it is that I know it is a lot to ask people to give up part of a weekend to help me.  Part of it is that I just don’t have that many people to ask.  I know lots of people…but I am not close to lots of people.    I know that even if I have to move in over the course of a month – one car load at a time – I will.

So if you have some free time the first weekend of May – or know anyone who does – and in particular if you have a pickup truck – I could use some help.  I will be out there asking over the next couple of weeks.  I have to trust that this will happen.  I have to trust that God will work out the details.  And I have to trust that I can get past my own reluctance in asking and just ask.

Leave a Reply

