Orange

Week 4 – The end is in sight

So tomorrow marks 4 weeks since I moved to Orange.  There are so many good things about being here.  I feel like I don’t talk about them enough.  So here you go:

  1. I love love love having my own space.  I can put things where I want them and they won’t move before I come back for them.
  2. It is so quiet here in Orange.  And not quiet like in Woodbridge where you can still hear cars outside…I mean quiet like only the country can be.
  3. People here are a lot nicer than at home.  Stores and restaurants and just people in general seem to be a whole lot nicer.
  4. I am more calm here.  I used to drive around the DC area and mumble “I hate people”…now I don’t really hate people – I just hate the selfish, mean way that people act on the road.  But here, I don’t say that – it wasn’t until I had to drive back to NOVA that it happened again.
  5. I am quickly getting to the point where I don’t need to buy anything else for the apartment – I am close but it still seems that daily I find something I still need.  Having said that, I am getting to use some things I have never had a place for.   For instance, I hung a print today that I bought in 2006 and have never hung or even gotten framed.
  6. I am also realizing how many things I have that I may not need.  That can only mean 1 thing – purge will be coming.
  7. Without cable TV, I am binge watching Hulu and Netflix and working my way through my DVD/Blu-Ray collection.  Finally.
  8. I sleep better here.  I go to sleep earlier on average and I wake up without an alarm clock every day.  I feel like I am finally living on my natural sleep rhythms – sleep when tired and wake when ready to be up.
  9. I don’t use my car that often…and for someone who spent a lot of time driving, that has been a really good thing for my stress level.
  10. I am more focused and more active here than I have been in the past.

I want to thank everyone for their well wishes.  I feel like the beginning is now.  I will leave you with – I found a new sign for my wall, it say “Live the life you always imagined”.  I am heading in that direction.

Leave a Reply

