A Story Worth Telling

Several years ago I became infatuated with a scrapbooking movement called Project Life.  Part of what I loved was the emphasis of looking at daily activities versus just looking at the big event moments.   I tried it, and quickly learned that I had a hard time keeping up with it because I saw that my days were the same – it was hard for me to find new things to put in the book…it all seemed mundane.  And the same.  I went the same places, had the same views, did the same things over and over.

I felt like my story was not worth telling.

So I shelved the idea, used the materials in different ways, but I never let go of the idea that I wanted to document the everyday.  When the idea of moving happened, I thought this may be it – new environment, new people, new routines.  But at the end of the day, I still find it to be too routine.  Maybe because I spend most of my time working, sitting at my desk.

So this weekend I am taking a break.  Letting go of the routine and getting out there to see what the area has to offer.  Getting my camera out and seeing things in a new way.  And most importantly, telling my new story.  It is worth telling.

 

Leave a Reply

