The next steps

First let me say thank you to everyone who has reached out after my last post.  It has been an emotional few weeks and it has been amazing how many people have come out of the woodwork in support and solidarity – and how many of my friends have had a similar journey (at least in part).  Whether it has been the cancer diagnosis or the weight loss needed, my friends have been extremely helpful and offering of support and love and prayers.

So a few more things are happening.  Yesterday, I had the “stop gap” measure done at the oncologists office.  Ironically I learned a bit more about the benefits of if – but not because the doc was talking to me.  She was addressing the medical student in the room observing.  So I learned but by “overhearing” her talk to someone else. It was information that would have been useful in relieving some of my anxiety the last time I saw her.  But at least I heard it.  I have a one month check up on yesterdays procedure and then a 3 month biopsy.  So sometime in the next 3 months I need to find a new oncologist.

Tomorrow I am having my first and hopefully only root canal.  I had to postpone it when I was fighting the infection so I am ready to have it done.  Not excited about it – but ready for it as my mouth hurts.

Then Monday I have an appointment for an EKG.  While in the hospital they found a heart murmur that had never been detected before so I have to get tested to make sure there is nothing wrong with my heart.

If I wasn’t sure that God was trying to tell me something, I would be now.  I am falling apart.  Physically speaking that is.

Saying all of that, I can’t really deal with the vastness of what is happening and I just take it day by day and try to deal with what is in front of me.  However, the big picture becomes clearer each time I visit a doctor.  Big changes are coming.  And the time for small changes has passed.

So your continued prayers are appreciated and thank you again for all of your support.

3 comments

  1. Stef Kurtz · September 15, 2015

    One of my devotions did week talked about Fighting Anxiety with Prayer and the scripture that was mentioned is Philippians 4:6, “Don’t worry about anything, but in everything, through prayer and petition with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God. I’m petitioning for you, and thanking God for being in control. I love you!

  2. lassie hatley · September 15, 2015

    I didn’t know about your cancer diagnosis. I’m so very sorry your oncologist was such a jerk and hurt you like that. I hope you find a new one who appreciates the wonderful person you are. You are so much more than a number on a scale. I’m sorry this is an area that causes you difficulty and pain. I am praying that God will completely heal you and that you will come to know how He sees you, unconditionally and perfectly deserving of love. I hope you will keep writing about your cancel joirneybsonwe can know how to support and pray for you.

  3. Monica · September 16, 2015

    Faith Michelle, everything will be okay. God will make it happen. He sees our hearts and feels our pain. Sing loud with that precious voice you have, you will find peace and calm. I’m thinking of you and praying for this difficult time to be over soon. Love you dear!

Leave a Reply

