The Road to Recovery

On Dec 3, I had surgery to rid my body of cancer – and a few organs – and this process has taught me many many things.  I thought I would share a few today.

  • Only I can advocate for my own health.   I was not comfortable with my original oncologist.  She made me feel bad.  When that happens, get yourself a new doctor.  When your life is at stake, don’t delay.  And if they treat it like it is no big deal, make sure you push for the answers as to not just why it is not a big deal, but HOW they will help you to deal with the issue.
  • Cancer is unpredictable – it is ok to be scared into action.  When the surgeon came out to talk to my family after the surgery, he told them that the cancer area was very small and that there did not appear to be any spreading at all outside of that small area.  However, he said that the surgery was still a good idea as that lingering cancer in the future would be with me for a while.  In the end, was my life in danger now? No.  Could it have waited?  Probably.  But I would have had cancer lingering over me while I did.  And since you can’t always predict what cancer will do, why take the chance.
  • People love me.  This was a hard one for me to take in, but truthfully, if you want to know how many people love you – get sick.  The amount of support and love and encouragement I have received over the last 4 months has been overwhelming and staggering.  For someone who lives most of their life alone (and has never been someone with an abundance of close friends), this one thing made such a difference and I can never thank you all enough.
  • A sense of humor will help you when the going is tough.  My friend Lori bought me a stuffed uterus.  I think she was afraid I would not react well, but let me tell you, it made the days before surgery easier as I had this little thing to laugh about and it pulled my focus off the fear of those 2 days.

One more big thanks to all of you.  I am recovering nicely and have been out and about each day just trying to walk around.  God has blessed me greatly here and I can’t wait to see you all again.

 

 

 

 

One comment

  1. adorehimDiane · December 9, 2015

    so glad to hear that you are recovering and in His Hands! blessings to you

Leave a Reply

