Uncategorized

The Great 2016 Purge

I have now been in my apartment for a year and a half and this month I have been cleaning out every cabinet, closet and box to finally get rid of the things I don’t need.  I have a huge pile of things for Goodwill or to sell online.  Its amazing how much I have in this apartment.  No wonder it feels like it is always a bit messier than I want it to be.

Currently it looks like a tornado hit it – as I have been unable to get to Goodwill (Thanks Snowmageddon) with piles of “stuff” that needs to be taken outside of my doors.  This weekend I will be taking pictures and adding some things to an local online yard sale site.

Here is what the purge has taught me so far:

  1. I accumulate things easily.
  2. I tend to accumulate due to 3 reasons: I want the security of having it, I want to believe that I am the person that will use that “thing”, I have tricked myself into believing that I will need it someday and so rather than spend money later I might not have, I need to get it now.
  3. I use things one at a time, but I own 3 or 4 of certain items.  See #2
  4. I would cry if I added up all of the money I spent on these things I am now getting rid of.
  5. When it comes to crafting items, my hopes are way bigger than my time or energy allows for.  There is so much I want to do…but I never seem to get to it.
  6. As I mentioned, I sometimes accumulate because I want to be the person who does a certain thing.  This is hardest when it comes to crafting.  I know what I am good at, what I like to do, but I still buy hoping I will be someone who does those other things.  I don’t have time for the things I do well.  When do I think I will have time to do the other 400 things I want to do?
  7. I like pretty things.  I like things in my favorite colors.  But do I need EVERYTHING I see in those colors – maybe.  Progress not perfection 🙂
  8. Even when I shred and throw away, I seem to be drowning in paperwork…maybe it has something to do with my job in print and mail?
  9. I know I am an out of sight-out of mind person.  So it is hard for me to have things behind closed doors.  I don’t use it when I can’t see it.  And if it is behind a door I don’t open often…forget it.  I may never use it.
  10. My biggest struggle – hands down – is small things.  Where to house so I remember when I need it, easily accessible but not cluttering things up, and making sure I don’t accumulate multiples.  Things like lighters, pens, notepads, batteries…the small stuff.

Prior to the end of the year, I spent a lot of time purging my kitchen of the food I should not be eating.  Took stuff to my mom and J so it is not in my house anymore.  And I ate some of it before starting the new plan.  Now that it is gone, I don’t have a choice about whether or not to eat it.  I miss my food.  I miss sugar.  But it was time to purge that part of my life for good.

There is one more thing I am purging this month.  I am TRYING hard to purge my guilt.  I set a bunch of monthly goals this year, but with all of the purging going on, some will not get done.  And that has to be ok.  I will get to them when I can.  In the meantime, I am getting the important things done.

I am not finished.  It may take me until Feb to be completely done.  So maybe there is more to learn about this purge.

My hope is to come out of this feeling lighter all the way around.  Weight, stuff and guilt are big things to purge…better get back to it. 🙂

 

1 thought on “The Great 2016 Purge”

Leave a Reply

